The history of Ona–Ara Local Government could be traced to the agitation by its founding fathers after the creation of Oluyole Local Government considered to be extremely large for efficient and effective administration. The argument of these founding fathers was premised on the fact that too much emphasis was placed on urban areas to the detriment of the predominately agrarian rural areas.

As a matter of fact, the founding fathers were of the ascertain that the rural areas were completely cut off from contributing to the system of governance, with bad roads, no potable water, the people were in darkness with occasional outbreaks of epidemics.

In other words, their lives were not touched positively by the government at the headquarter i.e. Idi–Ayunre. The tide however turned in 1989 when the then Military Administration of President Ibrahim Babangida created Ona–Ara Local Government out of the Old Oluyole Local Government with the headquarters at Akanran. Akanran was strategically chosen as the headquarters due to its central location with road networks linking other communities in the eleven wards of the Local Government before the creation of Local Council Development Areas {LCDA} by His Excellency Senator {Dr.} Isiaq Abiola Ajimobi.

According to 2006 population census, Ona–Ara Local Government has a  total population of 265,059 made up of male population is 131,471 while that of female is 131,588, with the land mass of about 3570km. Ona–Ara Local Government is bounded in the northern partly by Egbede Local Government, in the southern part by Oluyole Local Government, in the eastern part by Ogun/Osun State and in the western part by  Lagos/Ibadan express way with Ibadan South East Local Government area on the other  side of the express way. Ona–Ara Local Government comprises of eleven wards.

The people of Ona–Ara Local Government are predominantly farmers with fertile land for each crop like cocoa, kola cashews and citrus like orange, mango e.t.c. The farming population is scattered all over the various communities in the Local Government which include Foworogun, Idi–Ogun, Elese–Erin, Olosunde, Ojebode, Akanran and Gbada–Efon to mention just a few.

The Local Government council has a Traditional Council made up of the 13 recognised Baales whose chairmanship is on rotational basis. The traditional among the Olubadan–in Council and other Senior Chiefs. The incumbent now is High Chief {Dr.} O.O Olaifa the Osi Balogun of Ibadanland.

Besides, the Ona-Ara Traditional Council members are the 32 part II Baales and numerous other chiefs who assist in maintain cohesion and peaceful living of the citizen of various communities.

  • Land Area: 3570 square kilometer
  • Total Population: 265,059 in accordance with 2006 National Population Censes.
  • Local Government Headquarter: Akanran
  • Major towns and communities: Akanran, Gbedun, Olorunsogo, Olunloyo, Amuloko, Araromi,
  • The Local Government now consists of 6 wards made up of:
  • Akanran ward 1
  • Araro ward 2
  • Olunloyo ward 7
  • Amuloko 5
  • Olorunsogo ward 9
  • Gbedun ward 10